Thursday, April 5, 2007

MOUNTAIN - Flowers Of Evil @320

Leslie West (vocals, guitar); Felix Pappalardi (vocals, bass); Steve Knight (keyboards); Corky Laing (drums). Mountain's second release of 1971 (and fourth release in only a two year span), FLOWERS OF EVIL, would turn out to be the band's final studio release before starting a cycle of splitting up and reuniting. Comprising equal amounts of all new studio material and live recordings, FLOWERS OF EVIL contains several Mountain gems. Highlights of the studio side remain the album opening title track, as well as the Cream-like (and appropriately titled) blues rocker, "Crossroader." Mountain were always known for their larger than life concerts, and the live tracks capture the band in all its electrified boogie glory--a 25-minute medley centered around a cover of "Roll Over Beethoven," which weaves in and out of other jams, as well as a run through of their best known song, "Mississippi Queen."

Track list:
1. Flowers Of Evil
2. King's Chorale
3. One Last Cold Kiss
4. Crossroader
5. Pride And Passion
6. Dream Sequence:
Guitar Solo / Roll Over Beethoven / Dreams Of Milk & Honey / Variations / Swan Theme - (live)
7. Mississippi Queen - (live)

LINK: (copy link to browser and change "!!" to "tt")

Please leave a comment


Gordon said...

I love this band, leslie is one of the most underrated guitarist in my opinion. Just listen to the live show at the end! Thats how guitar should be played. [Not to mention the excellent drums and bass aswell]


Michael said...