Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Radiohead - Kid A (2000) @flac

Kid A is the fourth album by the English alternative rock band Radiohead, released on 2 October 2000 (2000-10-02) in the United Kingdom and on 3 October 2000 (2000-10-03) in the United States and Canada. A commercial success worldwide, Kid A went platinum in its first week of release in the UK. Despite the lack of an official single or video as publicity, Kid A became the first Radiohead release to debut at #1 in the US. This success was credited variously to a unique marketing campaign, the early Internet leak of the album, or anticipation after the band's 1997 album, OK Computer.

Kid A was recorded in Paris, Copenhagen, Gloucestershire and Oxford with producer Nigel Godrich. The album's songwriting and recording were experimental for Radiohead, as the band replaced their earlier "anthemic" rock style with a more electronic sound. Influenced by Krautrock, jazz, and 20th century classical music, Radiohead abandoned their three-guitar lineup for a wider range of instruments on Kid A, using keyboards, the Ondes martenot, and, on certain compositions, strings and brass. Kid A also contains more minimal and abstract lyrics than the band's previous work. Singer Thom Yorke has said the album was not intended as "art", but reflects the music they listened to at the time. Original artwork by Stanley Donwood and Yorke, and a series of short animated films called "blips", accompanied the album.

Kid A has been considered one of the more challenging pop records to have commercial success, and it polarised opinion among both fans and critics. The album won a Grammy for Best Alternative Album and was nominated for Album of the Year. It also received praise for introducing listeners to diverse forms of underground music.

Track listing
"Everything in Its Right Place" – 4:11
"Kid A" – 4:44
"The National Anthem" – 5:50
"How to Disappear Completely" – 5:55
"Treefingers" – 3:42
"Optimistic" – 5:16
"In Limbo" – 3:31
"Idioteque" (Radiohead, Paul Lansky) – 5:09
"Morning Bell" – 4:29
"Motion Picture Soundtrack" – 6:59
"Motion Picture Soundtrack" contains several minutes of silence and a "hidden track" in its running time. The song proper ends at about 3:24 and an untitled instrumental hidden track starts at about 4:17 and ends at 5:09. The remaining 1:50 of the track are silent. The vinyl version is the same length, however the hidden track starts at about 6:05.

Thom Yorke – Vocals, programming, keyboard, guitar, bass guitar
Colin Greenwood – bass guitar, sampler
Jonny Greenwood – Ondes Martenot, guitar, string arrangements, sampler, synthesiser
Ed O'Brien – guitar, programming
Phil Selway – drums, percussion, programming

Additional musicians
Andy Bush – trumpet
Andy Hamilton – tenor saxophone (credited as "tenor horn")
Steve Hamilton – alto saxophone (credited as "alto horn")
Stan Harrison – baritone saxophone (etc.)
Martin Hathaway – alto saxophone
Mike Kearsey – bass trombone
Liam Kerkman – trombone
Mark Lockheart – tenor saxophone
The Orchestra of St. Johns – strings
John Lubbock – conductor
Paul Lansky – sample of "Mild und Leise" on "Idioteque"
Arthur Kreiger – sample of "Short Piece" on "Idioteque"

LINK: h!!p://www.megaupload.com/?d=KSCEZ8AA

FLAC (separate) - SCANS

No comments: