Wednesday, January 14, 2009

The Flock - Dinosaur Swamps (1970) @flac

The Flock was a Chicago-based jazz-rock band that released two records on Columbia records in 1969 (The Flock) and 1970 (Dinosaur Swamps). The Flock did not achieve the commercial success of other Columbia jazz-rock groups of the era such as Chicago and Blood Sweat & Tears, but were most notable for their inclusion of a prominent violin in their recordings. The violinist, Jerry Goodman, went on to become a member of Mahavishnu Orchestra and a solo artist.

The members at the time of their 1969 studio recording were Fred Glickstein (guitar, lead vocals), Jerry Goodman (violin), Jerry Smith (bass), Ron Karpman (drums), Rick Canoff (saxophone), Tom Webb (saxophone) and Frank Posa (trumpet).

After a highly promising first album that was further "outside," jazz/fusion-wise than either Chicago or BS&T (owing, to a great extent, to the influence of Miles Davis' Bitches Brew album, which Webb participated in, but whose performance was not recorded), Columbia Records' Clive Davis raided The Flock, stealing Goodman for the Mahavishnu Orchestra project: apparently jazz violinist Jean-Luc Ponty was guitarist-bandleader Mahavishnu John McLaughlin's first choice, but the U.S. government would not grant Ponty a work-permit visa. The effect of taking Goodman out of The Flock was predictably disastrous, the rough equivalent of pulling George Harrison out of The Beatles.

The Flock reunited briefly in 1975 for an album Inside Out, and in 2004 a CD was released of a 1973 live concert called Live in Europe, which features Michael Zydowsky on violin in place of Goodman and includes original members Fred Glickstein, Jerry Smith, and Ron Karpman.

In late 1976, Fred Glickstein & Ron Karpman recruited bassist/cellist Thom Blecka from Chicago {formerly of T.S Henry Webb Group featuring Frank Posa}-Corky Siegel w/Sam Lay- Albert King- Joe Jammer-Johnny Ross & The Babysitters- & others) and formed a power trio that chose the title of: "FLOCK 3". The new outfit featured a handful of older, established Flock compositions, but yet emphasized new material, co-written by Glickstein & Karpman with some arrangement contributions by Blecka. The new hornless, violin-free, rock-oriented/ fusion trio `tore up` a few local gigs- opening for Cheap Trick, The Cryan' Shames-and standing on their own, occasionally joined onstage by original Flock alumnus T. S. Henry Webb (sax/vocal) and also friends: Dennis Tiger (blues harp/vocal)& Jeff Gates (keyboards). Unfortunately, the band's live performances were never captured on tape and any attempts at studio recording fell by the wayside due to personal issues amongst the band.

Years later, another lineup named Flock was formed, featuring at least two former original members, with expanded horn section and arrangements under the direction of T. S. Henry Webb. They recorded 4 singles for a label called Destination ("can't you see", "are you the kind," "sunshine and lollipops", plus a fourth title). None appear on an album. However, Webb's 18-piece band Obvious Necessity has recorded two CDs, "Wee Willie's Whizzer" (1995) and "Number Two: Signal Flow" (1997).

LINK: h!!p://
230.47 MB

EAC - CUE - LOG - FLAC (separate) - SCANS


winfried said...

Dear Blogger,
after having published the Dinosaurus swamp from the enormous Group The Flock, what about their first Album, entitled 'The Flock' ??

. said...

Please be patient. It will come some day...

Jobe said...

Nice site you have here